"The Book of Change is the most ancient and most profound of the Chinese classics, venerated for millennia as an oracle of fortune, a guide to success, and a dispensary of wisdom. The ancestor of all Chinese philosophy, it is the primary source for the pragmatic mysticism of the Tao Te Ching, the rational humanism of Confucius, and the analytic strategy of Sun Tzu's Art of War."

I Ching, The Book of Change, Thomas Cleary 1992

I Ching {pronounced yee jing} is an ancient Chinese oracle that provides an Oriental philosophical perspective to give insight on situations and problems. One poses a question - whether general or specific - though it is advised that the question should be as specific as possible. In other words, I Ching is divination.

I Ching is considered to be either 5,000 to 6,000 years old and is very likely the oldest book in existence. However, the form of I Ching used today was not fully developed until Confucius' time about 2,300 years ago. The I Ching is considered a mix of both Taoist and Confucian philosophy. "I" means change. "Ching" means book. Therefore I Ching means the 'Book of Change'. {Note: Some researchers call it the Book of Changes.}

Once the question is asked, then a hexagram is determined - of which there are sixty-four. Each hexagram represents either a piece of advice or an astute opinion. And, believe me, it is not always what you want to hear. I Ching can be kind but most times it can be quite pointed. I Ching is a lesson in humility and common sense.

A hexagram - besides being a SIX sided figure - is a figure made up of six lines. Each line is either a solid line {yang - masculine} or a broken line {yin - feminine}. And, each set of three lines is known as a trigram - so, in I Ching, a hexagram is a PAIR of trigrams. There are only eight I Ching trigrams.

"The eight trigrams determine fortune and misfortune." Confucius
How do you determine a hexagram?

Originally, yarrow sticks were thrown to determine the hexagram. Nowadays, usually and instead, three coins are thrown six times to determine a hexagram {made up of 2 trigrams}. Each time you throw the set of 3 coins, a line is determined, as follows below. Also, the first line determined is the bottom line of the hexagram.

2 tails and 1 head equals a yang line
2 heads and 1 tail equals a yin line
3 tails equals a moving yin line
3 heads equals a moving yang line

Hold your question clearly in your mind whilst throwing the coins.

Interpret the Reading

A reading is generally made up of three main parts:

The First Hexagram
The Changing Lines
The Second Hexagram

The reading for the first hexagram indicates the basic current situation and advice.

In many readings (but not all), the initial hexagram changes into a second hexagram, due to the fact that one or more of the lines change from a Yang to a Yin (or vice versa). If this is the case, you next interpret the reading for the changing lines. These give an indication of the dynamic or changing features in the situation. The changing lines should be read in sequence (the text is read from top to bottom, even though the corresponding lines appear from bottom to top). If a line appears to contradict the advice in the basic reading, the changing line takes priority. When the various lines give different advice, these may refer to a sequence of events, or may indicate genuine tensions in the dynamics of the situation. If a line is marked with an asterisk (*), this shows a ruling line. It should be given particular emphasis.

Finally, you read the second hexagram. This indicates the way in which the situation may develop, or advice for the future.

If the reading has no changing lines, you will have no second hexagram. This implies a situation that is fixed or static.

Check out your answers by clicking on the appropiate link below

Or click Here for all interpretations.

01 34 05 26 11 09 14 43
25 51 03 27 24 42 21 17
06 40 29 04 07 59 64 47
33 62 39 52 15 53 56 31
12 16 08 23 02 20 35 45
44 32 48 18 46 57 50 28
13 55 63 22 36 37 30 49
10 54 60 41 19 61 38 58